Holiday, Day 7

Today I felt much better (my nose isn’t stiff anymore, instead I got a throat-cleansing cough) – and the weather was damn nice to go outside, too. Banzai for my last day in Kyoto, well officially 2nd to last but tomorrow is yet another travel day with sitting in the train for at least 2 hours as I’m going back to Tokyo for my last 3 days.

Well. Today I ignored my alarm (yet again 😀 I did this really often these past days as this bed is soooo huge and cuddly and warm – and I am on holidays and still sick … so I’m allowed to do that!) and got off shortly before 10AM.
I went to the train station, bought my train ticket to the city center, went to the tourist information to buy a bus/subway ticket for 1 day (more expensive than buying 2 days but I don’t need 2 days so it would’ve been an overcharge 😛 ), searched where my bus stops and got in line to wait for its departure.
While I was waiting someone poked my shoulder: the dude in line behind me asked me where I’m from and how long I’m staying – I was totally perplexed that a Japanese dude actually asks me that 😀 weird thing to happen 😀 damn my alien-presence was seen through, haha.
Well, in the end we sat in the same bus but apart from each other so no further talk and he got off at the university while I was still waiting for my station – it takes a while to get to Arashiyama from Kyoto, especially with busy streets due to rush hours.
I got off in front of Tenryu-ji (a world heritage temple) and wanted to go inside – when I saw the price I was like: rather not…. 1,000 Yen for a visit is quite… expensive. Additionally 300 Yen for visiting the gardens – gardens only = 500 Yen. Eurf.
So I traveled further and a teenager girl spoke to me asking for directions to the Path of Bamboo – as I was looking for it too I said “I think there’s a sign” (like 100 meters away from us), I rushed to it and showed her that we need to go straight 🙂

How comes people talk to me when I’m coughing like crazy and look like shit and not when I do look like a normal sane (maybe) person?! 😮

 

So I followed that direction as I wanted to go there…. with lots of people suddenly surrounding me, so I rushed to get out of that as soon as possible >.<, crossed a railway when the lights started to sound and the barriers got down and suddenly I was completely alone on the street…. hm. I might have gone too far? Luckily there was a “where are you” sign close-by and I found out: I should’ve taken a turn to the left when I was mashed by these people…. okay, so time to go back 😀 and take a right into the path of Bamboo.
That was a real pleasant walk! The bamboo gave lots of shadow (while the street before was bright with barely any shadows… a bit too much for my sad sick eyes) and although there were lots of people it didn’t bother me as much as on the street – well, the shops being one reason as people just stop and shop instead of going further 😀 Hooray, humanity! One person stops somewhere, suddenly a lot of others join that person – and then we complain about the pidgeons and crows which do the exact same 😛

For the first time in Japan I heard a language I didn’t hear before since being on holiday (besides all that Japanese, Korean, French, German, English, more French, Chinese and more French) – guess what *drum roll*: DUTCH! 😀 

After walking down the (bright) street after my awesome trip through the bamboo garden I just wanted to get out of the annoying light T___T my eyes hurt a lot 😦 and I started coughing badly. Hooray for the awesome cough drops I bought (Peach taste) which really helped a lot with soothing the cough and my throat.
I took the bus back in direction of Kyoto Station but got off at Nishi Hongan-ji – that’s the temple that is located on the north-west side of Kyoto Station (Higashi Hongan-ji is the one being north-east of Kyoto Station) – it’s a real must to see in Kyoto :3 not far away from the station either.

I took the bus to Kyoto Station, went to shop some (lots!) cough drops with different flavors – I took 6 different kinds  (Peach, Plum, Grapefruit, Grape, Sweet Potato, Blueberry) with best regards to my future colds – a package of Calpis candy and some souvenirs for my colleagues at work 😛
Funny thing: As soon as Halloween is over, the shops suddenly sell Christmas stuff 😀

I returned to the station, exchanged money with an awesome rate and took the train back to the hotel. I just finished packing up my stuff, so I am ready to leave after my morning routine \o/
My train to Tokyo goes at 12:05AM. That gives me plenty of time to ignore my alarm at 8AM and get up before 10AM and still make it in time 😀

Sooooooooo. Here’s a picture of all the stuff I bought (or in case of those papers in the bag: got for free) in Kyoto – most of these being presents 😮
img_8458

Bye-bye Kyoto~

2 thoughts on “Holiday, Day 7

Leave a Reply

