Today’s Special Kyudo Training

It was my first Sunday training – hooray. And it was special! Nearly as special as this frog \(^0^)/

Today's Special Kyudo Training(frog prince statue in sensei’s garden)

I got picked up at 9:15am at Heemstede-Aerdenhout station and we drove to Kyudo training, which starts at 10am. We were only five people and got introduced to the Japanese visitors by our sensei. I didn’t knew all senseis from the Netherlands were present today, but it was really nice to see them all again (usually I only meet them for exams or new year’s shooting). We were left alone – as the senseis went to Haarlem for the flower parade – and started our training. After we finished our free training at 12pm, we had lunch at the terrace of our sensei and bathed in the warm spring sun.

Our sensei returned with the visitors around 2pm and we watched a demonstration of Iaido.

We introduced ourselves to my sensei’s sensei and participated in mato-sharei from highest to lowest ranks (means I was omai (lead) of the last group as I was lowest in rank present today… and also the only one with a kyu grade – all others were Dan level).

After that we got explanations of the sensei what we should correct and why we should correct it, which was really interesting. He then corrected us in training before he did Makiwara-sharei.

At 6pm we stopped the training and had some food and sake before leaving the dojo at 7pm. It was a really long day in the dojo, but it was interesting, I learned a lot of things (while I got some bruises on my left hand) and I look forward to Thursday’s training to see what my sensei says about the advice I received to change bow weight from 12 to 10 kg… (I don’t really want to go lower again and probably I was bad with my 12kg after shooting 30 arrows on that day *lol*)

Today's Special Kyudo Training

 

This one was a fun shot… this duck visited the dojo last Thursday already, but today he was walking all the way from the middle towards the target area… funny duck~

Today's Special Kyudo Training

Leave a Reply

