Kiba Sheds

As i remembered I didn’t fed Kiba since last Wednesday I thought it might be time for it. I got the mouse out of the freezer into a bowl with hot water to defreeze it and waited. After the mouse was ready I got it out and put it onto a tissue as usual, cleaned my hands with desinfection fluid and opened the terrarium.

I took off the snake cave… no snake.
I took of the snake stone, snake dropped to the bottom, looking around with milky eyes and rapid tongue movement like: “O_O what happened?”
After I got the stone to the side I saw the dark skin and milky eyes and felt like “oh crap”… but was too late, had the mouse in edible state and well.
I got Kiba out and put him on my arm where he wrapped himself, tasting the air with his tongue to know what’s going on.

For people who don’t know: Snakes which are shedding don’t eat and barely get out of their safe place – shedding is a process that costs a lot of energy.

I put Kiba into the box to get his actual weight, put him into his feeding box and offered him the mouse. He took a bit longer than usual as he can’t see much and needs to get information through smell, but bit the mouse after 30 seconds and I could leave him to clean his water bowl.

After he finished I got him out of the box, he wrapped himself around my arm again and I got his head into the terrarium and let him find his way back in as usual. He took quite a time through the terrarium, just as telling me “usually you take pictures, why not now?” – I went to take my camera and he gave me some nice shots…

Kiba Sheds

After 5 minutes he crawled to his snake cave and dug himself below it to get inside, but left his tail out…

Kiba Sheds

Seriously this snake is so cute and funny ūüėÄ

 

Leave a Reply

